Back at it again!

I’ve decided, after seeing tons of Pinterest motivation, to get back at it again. I’m not entirely sure why, but I love running. The moment you’re able to say ‘I did it. I finished that run!’ you feel 10x better. It could be the hardest day and I find myself just wanting to run.

Running doesn’t just make you happier but also keeps you toned or helps lose some weight. And as much as everyone keeps telling me I don’t need to lose weight, I’m still going to. Because this… this is how I feel when I see progress. Plus, I can’t tell you how many times I’ve heard someone say college makes you fat but wait till you get to the real world where you don’t have time to exercise…

65ca1354934b0cb388e40004d1852cd9

You know what’s weird? During some runs, I find myself saying ‘I hate running yet I keep coming back to do it the next day.’  Why do I do it? Why do I run? Umm, I’m not sure I can give anyone a direct answer.

I do however remember a day not too long ago that I’ll never forget. It makes me want to run more remembering how I felt that day. My friend and I decided we were going to run but the problem was, Florida’s weather is so very unpredictable. We had run every other day after school and had no issues with weather other than some wind, extremely hot sun, and days of high tides… but no storms.

That day, we started the run and expected to run to the end of the beach. It didn’t happen. Clouds rolled in, sun disappeared, and the waves grew meaner. Shortly after we turned around to head back, it began to rain. Rain turned to heavier rain and every so often there was lightning crashing in the distance (not close enough to us). The good thing was that the rain was refreshing. The bad thing was it was causing me to be unable to see. Do you guys know how much it hurts when sweat runs into your eyes? It freaking burns!

I can still remember the people hiding under awnings and the beach bars. Some would yell to us ‘run a mile for me!’ Others would watch as we attempted to reach our car before it got worse. Wet sandy legs and shoes, soaked clothes, blinded eyes: that was our run. I regret nothing. That run was one I’ll never forget. It made running fun surprisingly.

Maybe someday soon, thunderstorms will be popping up here in Illinois and I’ll get to experience it again… minus the sand. Today’s run 30 seconds faster and didn’t stop once. Gettin better one day at a time…

Leave a Reply

