Live in such a way that if someone spoke badly of you, no one would believe it.

(Just a little ranting/pep talk about bullies and 6 year-olds)

Today was my little cousin’s 2nd birthday party. For the record, I still find birthday parties for kids under 5 years old weird/wrong since they literally cannot remember any of it by the time they are in high school.. But nonetheless, I watched her play, doing small flips, which were actually more like rolley-polleys on the trampolines. Her parents own a gymnastics/cheer gym so she’s growing up with these. That’s what this post is about.

Last post was me complaining about how people in college were being bullies and still trying to find ways to make fun of me (for nothing). This one sort-of relates to that and my cousins…

One of my daily routines is to look back on Facebook what I posted years ago on this day. Everyday, I’m reminded of things I’ve done, memories, and stupid things I’ve posted. But today, I made a post and it’s like my 20-year-old self is talking to my 22-year-old self.

Live in such a way that if someone spoke badly of you, no one would believe it.

It relates back to the bully because the things they said, none of my friends even hesitated to tell me they were wrong. They hadn’t seen my outfit or my hair that prior day yet none of my friends even looked like they wanted to agree with the bully.

Today when I went to my cousin’s birthday party, I watched her play, knowing she wouldn’t remember me. I knew her younger sister, a 1-year-old, wouldn’t remember me holding her and playing with her. But her oldest sister, being 6 years old, actually might. I hadn’t seen Chloe in a couple of months and that’s how long the prior visit took as well. So all thoughts went to her not remembering me nor wanting to hang out with me.

Turns out, she went asking both her parents to let her stay with me overnight at our grandma’s house. This cousin, this girl, who I thought wouldn’t remember me, wanted to have a sleepover with me. They say, Children are the greatest judges of character. “Researchers found that, just like adults, children as young as three tend to judge a person’s character traits – such as trustworthiness and competence – simply by looking at their face.”

If a girl, who probably doesn’t understand I’m related to her can trust me enough to want to have a sleepover, then I have to believe I’m a good person. I want to be someone she can look up to, but also let people try to bash me and either not care about it or have others see I’m such a good person that they wouldn’t believe it or want the person talking about me like that. 0088098d6d31ad78ffd71268900f2099

Screw the bullies. Live for yourself. Live for the kids who look up to you, even when you don’t know it; they’re the best judge of character!

2 thoughts on “Live in such a way that if someone spoke badly of you, no one would believe it.

  1. Yo MissNikkiP, I just found your blog today through a link from Micah at Monkey Prodigy. Micah (and his “proud papa”) are two of the coolest people I’ve met in like a decade. I started following you just now. I really like the comment “live in such a way that if someone spoke badly of you no one would believe it.” Powerful little thought, to say the least. I look forward to reading your blog on a regular basis. Please consider giving me “a read or two.” One of my most favorite things to do is write poetry. Have you ever written something that makes you sit back and say, “Now where did THAT come from?” Here’s my link: http://theaccidentalpoet.net

    Like

    1. I’m pleased to hear you liked/like my posts and blog. Though I’m not fully sure I understand how you found it through ‘Monkey Prodigy’? I write poems every so often, less lately so sure I will take a look at your blog sometime.

      Like

Leave a Reply

