Posted in Favorite Things, Just Another Day, Work, Workout

Back at the training base!

LONG STORY/REMINISCING AHEAD…

It’s come to my attention that the last string of posts has been either upsetting or negative or just unhappy. But that’s just not the case! It’s been pretty great actually. Back on May 25th, I made a post.

“Now I’m on my second week…. As of today, this is what has happened.

New friends: 0

Coworkers who’s name’s I can’t remember: 14 out of 15.

Workouts I’ve done: 2 (should be 12)”

I’m happy to announce this has drastically changed. As part of training, we are sent to a (secret) base down in one of the southern and very warm states! Boy was it a drastic change for me too! I jumped on the plane at 9am, which was the first time I’ve flown alone, and it was snowing. After jumping on my connecting flight and landing in the southern state, it was 80’s and HUMID! A group of us was stuffed into a bus in which our awkwardness seemed to connect us as friends.

New Friends: 4

Drive. Drive Drive. Seemed like forever after waiting 3 hours in the airport for the bus then driving for over an hour with a seemingly psychotic driver. When arriving at base, everyone’s searched for ID’s and any weapons have to be turned in. All of us clung to each other… still is awkwardness and confusion.

Finally 10pm, i get to my room. Roommate MIA but stuff sitting right there… to look at name tag on bag or not…. you’ll never know! =) She returned to the room later and we instantly bonded. She was part of the Jersey crew.

New Friends: 5

Class was insanely hard to wake up for. I think it was like 530am I got woken up by just so i could tag along to breakfast and not be a loner in the corner… sucks being the only one from your state at base… it’s like high school to be honest. The agents stick to their agencies and the states stick to their own groups. Welcome to the cool group, the nice group, geeky group, etc. etc. etc. (I won’t say which Jersey was…)

ONTO CLASS.

Walking into that class was more awkward than poly school. Everyone is watching each other, assessing everyone it seemed. I know I was. To my happiness, i noticed quite a few who seemed nervous and shy. The teachers seemed strict at first but then opened up. I swear it was like death by powerpoint. There had to be 200 pages in that horrid binder. I can’t count how many times my head was nodding off. Standing was a good solution, but hard when you sat in the middle of the room because then it was back to the awkwardness. You stand up, everyone watches. You fall asleep, everyone watches. It’s a lose lose there. The times we we’re out of classroom were the best but that is knowledge I can’t post about on here.

Adventures!

I made friends with a girl from my state back in original training. She met me up there and I made friends with D, K, and R.

New Friends: 8

Dee (As i shall call her on here) became like a sister. We agreed on almost everything. Many times I’d text her when my class got out (since they always got out early….) and ask if there was anything good for lunch. 9 out of 10, we’d agree that it was crap or really good. (Mostly it wasn’t that great). Both of us were bitchy in the morning because we both hate mornings. Like no sir, you can’t talk to me right now. I don’t care if you’re angry because we sat at your table. Go away. Now. Hmm what else. OH we both love to workout…except she was miss gimpy over there with her robo arm from dislocating her elbow! (Yea Dee, I called you gimpy!)

Two days there, 1 while 80s other while it was 90s, we decided to go for a run to explore campus. Boy, we were dying. Swallowing bugs left and right, getting stung, dripping sweat, being followed by base police, getting lost on base, being stared at by EVERY passing car, getting cheered on by other agents (Best part) and the horrible chaffing… all while running 3.5 and 3.70 miles!

What most people did know was that we were ALWAYS watching. “3-umm 7 or 8” we’d say or. “12- 1/0″… we can admit it now… it was us watching and telling where people were to look at. I’m sure you can figure out the 7 or 8 meaning. I’ll leave the 1 or 0 a mystery =)

We also came up for nicknames for people. Rico, Dylan, Frank, were some of the people. Just typing those three, i have to stop because i’m laughing at them. We literally talked about people right in front of their faces and they had no idea! (It wasn’t bad things, least not for Rico or Dylan.) Hey Dee, Ricccccooooooooo! lol

Pool

Of the adventures we had there were many unrelated to class. Pool– it was like a nightly occurrence. We went almost every night…. every single night. Cold water sucked but throwing the football and watching the guy’s jaws drop was amusing… yes we are girls. Yes we can throw better than you. Suck it! Or just the fact that our group was basically the ONLY ones who actually had on swimming suits and got in the water. Most of the time, the other groups would hang out around the pool and just watch, drink, and play music and cards or cook food. On Sunday, I spent 1230-10 in the pool. As you guys don’t know what i work for you won’t understand this but for those who do and for my memory when i look back, I had 2 people ask if I was CBP and another who thought I was USSS. To me, those are all compliments that i put off the appearance of one finally.

Bowling

In my class there was also the Texas crew. They also could be categorized into a group like jersey but i’ll leave that for them to try to figure out. They invited Dee, K, and I to go bowling. You guys already know how I’m a bowler… for me to go bowling without equipment, i was a mess. The shoes didn’t slide, i didn’t have a ball that fit, and one specific person was buying me TOO many drinks (Yes I just said that and you know you did! But still thank you!) It was probably one of the most fun nights I had there. There was no drama. There was a ton of laughing. My score didn’t reach above 100 either time. And we ended up seeing one of the instructors there who gave us a lesson. Then, drunk me decided to tell him how i didn’t like 1/3 instructors because he was “mean” and “not nice…” I didn’t get in trouble. I think he knew i was drunk. I’m told my friends were saying quietly that it was time for Nikki to stop talking and purposely distracting me from him. Not all memories of that night remain but it was amazing.

New Friends: 16

Dodgeball

Not many showed but we killed it. We had some second week-ers play against us. most of the games were guys against girls, except one of the instructors joined our team to make it even. As i said to them, none of them were going to be able to hit me and they didn’t. At one point, it was just me left and i hate catching but I can whip that dodgeball. Three against one. they all had balls and I only held one. All at once, they threw at me. Somehow i ducked the first one and spun in a circle putting myself in the foot of space between the other two balls. Neither hit me and slammed against the back wall. We ended being Dodgeball Champs at the base!

New friends: 20

Cities:

We went to one island and one big town. If i list the names, you know the state we were stationed in. The big town i will forever remember as the town i hate since i lost my phone there… stupid stealing people. The island was great but cold and windy. MORE DRINKS! Skipping down the street arm in arm with Dee, buzzed/drunk. Running to reach the bus that wasn’t even at the stop yet. Buying more alcohol for base… =) mmmm good times.

Our Final Day

I’m sure i’ve skipped some adventures. Like going to target and getting lost from the rest of the group and taunting the security to make them follow us. But the last day, wow…. the finals were insanely hard (or so we thought). Only one person felt confident after the first part of the test. I wanted to sit there and cry knowing i’d have to wait till the end of the day to know. Second part was easy-peasy. Only got 1 wrong on that. To give us our pass/fail grades, we waited in line. Alphabetical order, they called us in to give the scores. Hot, nauseous, anxious, wanting to make a run for it– all of this was wrapped up in me and many others. I was 20th in line so it was a long wait. By this time, Dee and K had already walked over to tell me they had passed and tried to give support. Finally they called me in.

It was quiet. They all just stood there smiling at me. Tell me dammit! I was screaming in my head. Then our active shooter stepped forward saying “Look here, it’s my shinning drill star!” which made me more embarrassed and anxious. Barbara smiled next while handing me my diploma along with Charles and Joe. They laughed when I told them how we all hated them for making us wait nervously outside. I PASSED!

Obstacle course:

Part of making friends with the Texas crew, we made a bet that lowest score had to do the obstacle course. This course was not made for our agency. It was walls to jump, monkey bars, pull-up bars, ladders to climb, long jump, crawl under ropes, over ropes, balance beam, zigzag point, boat anchor chains to pull (heavy as shit!) and tires to flip. Naturally, everyone who was part of the bet was male, besides me, then Dee joined in after the bet. Also naturally, instead of low score, we ALL did it, some parts multiple times. Dee and I are smaller and probably weaker so we took a little extra time to do it. But hey i mean, if i’m not mistaken one of the Texas crew is ex military so he can like go do it twice before we finish once. Nonetheless, we all finished: with bruises, blisters, sprained ankle, and tire burn.

PARTY!

Well not quite… you see, our moto is team before me. 1 person in our class didn’t pass on the first try. I’ll never forget his face. He was crying and ashamed he had failed. He tried to hide while everyone cheered when they saw another person come out holding the diploma. Later i got the chance to speak to him and get his sights back up. Also managed to convince him to come out to the pool that night which was where the party was! Swimming, drinking, people everywhere. Somehow managed to get one of the Texas crew in the water… big baby was cold the whole time! Yes, I called you a baby! Haha. But it was very fun. Better bet that next time we’re in the pool together again, you’re getting pushed in and then dunked! I will win!

The party led out of the pool since it was 10 and police kick us out. There was playing of cards in the rooms, quietly, so we wouldn’t get busted. Napping for an hour or two. Being woken up by Dee climbing into my bed the middle of that and freaking the crap out of me. I will miss that place but i will miss the people i met there more.

All in all, i managed to make over 30 friends at this school, and not all from the same agency. Friends forever hopefully and good contacts made. I’d say we all came out stronger and ready for work! Dee, you and I actually got physically stronger i think! haha

I WILL go back someday for more training!

Author:

What can I say, I'm just trying to figure my life out... with all the ups and downs.

Leave a Reply

