Posted in Favorite Things, Just Another Day, Workout

To honor those who fell!

I’m not sure if I ever had made a post about a life goal I have, which is “To run a race in every state.” It doesn’t have to be a 5k necessarily, it can be more. However, this race that I found and intend to do, is not a race at all. This will be well worth it and if anyone is in the area, you should do it as well.

My coworker told me of this event they have in Green Bay, Wisconsin. It’s held in Lambeau Field where the Green Bay Packers play! (Granted I’m SOOO not a Packer’s fan but rather a Bears fan.)

All of of us are aware of what happened on 9/11 here in America. Many lives were lost that day. In honor of all of the firefighters that died, 343 of them who gave their lives to save others, there is a stair climb. You start at ground 0 and climb 110 flights of stairs.  This is the equivalent to going up and down all the stairs on Lambeau Field’s base level. Its not timed nor is it a race. Goal is just to finish! To make it mean even more, the race gives a badge with a picture and name of one of those fallen firefighters for you to climb for.

An even better part about this race is that everything raised, whether be donations or just entry’s into the event, is all given to the families who lost firefighters on 9/11.

I don’t know about you guys but knowing I’m ‘running’ for someone who gave their life trying to save someone is more than enough reason to run! There is no doubt that i’m going to finish for him/her. If they can run up those stairs in a hot building, wearing their full uniform, and saving hurt people, i can endure a little cold weather and some sore legs.

The goal is to get a group of my friends to join me in this event. So far I have a couple yes’s (assuming they can get off work and not have any demands) and a bunch of maybes. I may be weird in this but if someone asked me to do this in honor of any firefighters, police, or military, i’d jump at the chance. Any way to honor my country and those who protect it– no chance I’d say no.

If any of you want to join in the climb, go register and maybe see you there! Or if you want to donate, go to this site! If i get enough people to go, I’ll create a team too!

http://www.piercemfg.com/climb#stairclimb

download (4)

Author:

What can I say, I'm just trying to figure my life out... with all the ups and downs.

Leave a Reply

